Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League awards night a prized occasion

THE Standard Security Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League held their 51st presentation night at the New Delaval and Newsham Social Club.

THE Standard Security Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League held their 51st presentation night at the New Delaval and Newsham Social Club.

Sponsor Jim Scott handed out the awards, the first going to the divisional secretaries of the year.

Division Two winner was Lee Stephenson of Cowpen Percy Arms, with the Division One award shared between Martyn Hepple from Blyth Seahorse and Mark Jobson of Blyth Masons Arms.

Premier Division honours went to Phil Arnott from Burradon and New Fordley.

The Division Two top scorer award went to Kris Allington from Ashington Fox Cover, who scored 42 goals in league games.

Martyn Evans from North Shields Gunner won the Division One awards after notching 28 goals, while Ian Lee from Burradon and New Fordley won the Premier Division prize with 10 goals.

In Division Two, three players shared the Divisional Player of the Year awards – Allington, Liam Issac from Bedlington Community and Darren Phillip from The Newsham.

The Division one accolade went to Patrick Allen from New Delaval and Newsham SC, the Premier Division honours to Daniel Hislop from The Eagle Blyth.

The Bill Young Fair Play League award was shared by Ashington Fox Cover and Blagdon Arms Cramlington, Fox Cover taking it by virtue of more man-of-the-match awards. Referee of the year was Stephen Young from North Shields.

The Harry Kennedy award, gives to a club or individual who excelled over the season, was given to The Newsham from Division Two despite them finishing bottom of the table.

The Presidents Trophy for behind-the-scenes work was presented to Ian Burt.

Also honoured were J D Marnock Cup winners Newbiggin, Alan Davison Cup victors Burradon and New Fordley, new Eric Anderson Cup holders Ashington Grand and Saints Shield winners The Albert North Shields.

S A Randolph Cup victors were Burradon and New Fordley, George Davison Cup winners Burradon and New Fordley, F Division conquerors Newbiggin FC. Division Two winners were Ashington Grand, runners-up Cowpen Percy Arms. Division One victors were The Albert North Shields, runners-up Monkseaton Hunting Lodge.

The Premier Division title went to Burradon and New Fordley, with Ashington Mortimer second.

The David Crichton Cup, played for by teams from the Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League and the Cramlington Sunday League, went to Burradon and New Fordley.

Finally, John Balmer, who had been on the league committee for 12 years – six years as records officer – was presented with a special trophy to honour his sterling work.


David Whetstone
Culture Editor
Graeme Whitfield
Business Editor
Mark Douglas
Newcastle United Editor
Stuart Rayner
Sports Writer