Ousted Vera Baird vows to fight to get her seat back

THE MP who lost her seat in a Corus backlash has vowed to fight on.

THE MP who lost her seat in a Corus backlash has vowed to fight on.

Ian Swales overturned a 12,000 Labour majority to take the Redcar seat from Vera Baird in one of the shock General Election results of the night.

The Liberal Democrats captured the traditional Labour seat with a majority of more than 5,000 votes.

Ms Baird, said being Redcar’s MP had been a job into which she “put heart, body and soul”.

In Stockton South, Labour’s hold on Teesside was further loosened when the Conservatives’ James Wharton won the seat by just 332 votes to oust Labour’s Dari Taylor.

It was also the end of Frank Cook’s 27-year reign as MP for Stockton North.

Standing as an independent after being de-selected by Labour, he trailed in fifth in the contest won by Labour’s new candidate Alex Cunningham, a leading Stockton councillor.

In Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland, Tom Blenkinsop narrowly held the seat for Labour as the Tory vote surged.

It was the seat held since 1997 by Labour’s Ashok Kumar, who died in March.

Labour’s Stuart Bell in Middlesbrough and Iain Wright in Hartlepool are the only two Teesside MPs from the last Parliament who will be returning to Westminster after this election.


David Whetstone
Culture Editor
Graeme Whitfield
Business Editor
Mark Douglas
Newcastle United Editor
Stuart Rayner
Sports Writer