North East Schools Awards finalists unveiled

The annual North East Schools Awards celebrate excellence in education and today we reveal our 2013 finalists

The Journal North East School Awards
The Journal North East School Awards

Today we can reveal the shortlist for our prestigious North East Schools Awards, celebrating excellence in education.

From scores of entries from across the region, our judges have managed to whittle down the impressive nominations to bring you our 2013 finalists.

The annual campaign is a popular joint venture between The Journal and our sister paper on Teesside, The Evening Gazette.

The awards aim to highlight the fantastic work taking place in our region’s schools and to praise the unsung heroes who make it all possible. There are nine awards – five for individuals and four for school projects. Our finalists are:

Best Healthy School Award – Freebrough Academy in East Cleveland, Marwood C of E VC Infant School in Middlesbrough, Morpeth All Saints First School in Northumberland, and Pallister Park Primary School in Middlesbrough.

School Support Staff of the Year - Donna Russell from St Peter’s C of E School in Saltburn-by-the-Sea, Eleanor Stoves from St Joseph’s RC Middle School in Hexham, Northumberland, and Alison Whitehall from Gosforth Academy in Newcastle.

Inspirational Primary Teacher of the Year sponsored by The Education Network – Rachel Baxter from Pallister Park Primary School in Middlesbrough, Ann Champion from Bow School in Durham, and Andy Oliver from Pallister Park Primary School in Middlesbrough.

Inspirational Secondary School Teacher of the Year sponsored by the University of Sunderland – Duncan Blackburn from Holy Trinity College in Middlesbrough, Steve Braysher from Ponteland High School in Northumberland, and Carole Thurrell from Stokesley School.

Best Sustainable School sponsored by Nexus – Egglescliffe School in Stockton, St Anthony’s Girls’ Catholic Academy in Sunderland, and Stocksfield Avenue Primary in Newcastle.

Learning through Internet & ICT sponsored by Teesside University – King James I Academy in Bishop Auckland and Newham Bridge Primary School in Middlesbrough.

Caretaker of the Year sponsored by Blueline Taxis – Kevin Devine from Holy Trinity Church of England VA Primary School in South Shields, Steve Treen from Laurence Jackson School in Cleveland, and Jeff Wilkinson from Westgate Hill Primary School in Newcastle.

Headteacher of the Year sponsored by Life Science Centre - Peter Tincombe from Darras Hall First School in Northumberland and Christine Wain from Pallister Park Primary School in Middlesbrough.

Best School in the Community sponsored by Northumbrian Water - Mickley First School in Stocksfield, Northumberland, Rye Hills School in Redcar, and The King Edward VI School in Morpeth.

The campaign is being backed by Metro Radio, with breakfast show presenters Steve and Karen hosting the daytime ceremony at Newcastle Falcons Rugby Club on Thursday.

The event will start at 10.30am with a special rugby session with some of the Falcons players.

The awards are sponsored by Nexus, the University of Sunderland, Northumbrian Water, Newcastle’s Life Science Centre, Blueline Taxis, The Education Network and Teesside University.


David Whetstone
Culture Editor
Graeme Whitfield
Business Editor
Mark Douglas
Newcastle United Editor
Stuart Rayner
Sports Writer