The Journal's North East Schools Awards 2014 finalists are unveiled

The annual North East Schools Awards celebrate excellence in education and today we reveal our 2014 finalists

Pallister Park Primary School are handed one of the awards by Journal editor Brian Aitken at last year’s event
Pallister Park Primary School are handed one of the awards by Journal editor Brian Aitken at last year’s event

Today The Journal can reveal the shortlist for its prestigious North East Schools Awards, celebrating excellence in education.

From scores of entries from across the region, judges have managed to whittle down the impressive nominations to bring you the competition’s 2014 finalists.

The annual campaign is a popular joint venture between The Journal and our sister paper on Teesside, The Evening Gazette.

The awards aim to highlight the fantastic work taking place in the region’s schools and to praise the unsung heroes who make it all possible. There are nine awards – five for individuals and four for school projects.

The finalists are:

Best Healthy School Award – Crookhill Primary in Newcastle, Pallister Park Primary in Middlesbrough and Walkergate Primary in Newcastle.

School Support Staff of the Year - Karen Atkinson from St Stephens Primary in Newcastle, Linda Dixon from King James Academy in Durham, and Karen Allinson, from Ings Farm School, Redcar.

Inspirational Primary Teacher of the Year sponsored by The Education Network – Rachel Baxter from Pallister Park Primary School in Middlesbrough, Caroline Hodgson from Kelvin Grove Primary School in Gateshead and Leighanne Softley from Fulwell Juniors in Sunderland.

Inspirational Secondary School Teacher of the Year sponsored by the University of Sunderland – Lesley Atkinson from Washington School in Sunderland, David Smith from Walbottle Campus in Newcastle and Lynne Whitehead from Seaham School of Technology in Durham.

Best Sustainable School sponsored by Nexus – King Edward Primary in North Shields, Richard Avenue Primary School in Sunderland and Southlands School in Tynemouth.

Learning through Internet & ICT – George Stephenson High School in Newcastle, King Edward VI School in Northumberland and King Edward Primary School in North Shields.

Caretaker of the Year sponsored by Blueline Taxis – Chris Attwell from King Edward Primary in North Shields, Billy Leiper from Newburn Manor Primary School in Newcastle and Kevin Robinson from Corpus Christi Primary School in Middlesbrough.

Headteacher of the Year sponsored by Teesside University - Beth Atkinson from The Oak Tree Academy in Stockton, Dave Erskine from Southland School in North Tyneside and Lynn Johnston from Wylam First School in Northumberland.

Best School in the Community sponsored by Northumbrian Water - North Shore Academy in Stockton, Victoria Lane Academy in Durham and Belmont Community School in Durham.

Radio breakfast show presenter Anna Foster will host the daytime ceremony at Ramside Hall, County Durham, on July 8. The event will start at 10.30am with a special golf session for the children on Ramside’s championship golf course.

The awards are sponsored by Nexus, the University of Sunderland, Northumbrian Water, Blueline Taxis, The Education Network and Teesside University.


David Whetstone
Culture Editor
Graeme Whitfield
Business Editor
Mark Douglas
Newcastle United Editor
Stuart Rayner
Sports Writer