Tharsus Group makes final of national manufacturing awards

Blyth firm Tharsus Group has enjoyed growing recognition since become an original equipment design and manufacturer

©Neil Denham Quality engineer Simon Turnbull working in the factory at Tharsus
Quality engineer Simon Turnbull working in the factory at Tharsus

Northumberland business, Tharsus Group, has been named as a finalist in the national Mechanical Engineers’ Manufacturing Excellence Awards.

The Blyth-based original equipment design and manufacturer (OEDM) was shortlisted in the Small and Medium-Sized Enterprise category in the summer, after which assessors from the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) paid a visit to the factory.

During their time there, they took a tour of the facility, met and interviewed key personnel and inspected the company’s design and manufacturing capabilities.

On top of the judging process, they also provided free expert advice and benchmarking through the Manufacturing Excellence business improvement programme, a cornerstone of the awards for more than 30 years.

Established in 1964 by two ex-Reyrolle employees following a football pools win, Tharsus started life as a sheet metal fabricator.

It became an OEDM after an acquisition by chief executive Brian Palmer and now takes responsibility for part or all of the process from concept design through to final assembly and serial manufacture.

This is the second time in 12 months the company has reached the final of an SME category in national awards; in 2013, it was named Best SME in the Best Factory Awards, run by the Cranfield School of Management.

Palmer said: “Reaching the final of the Manufacturing Excellence Awards is a fantastic achievement for the business.

“In a relatively short period we have received some outstanding endorsements for the investments we’ve made our manufacturing capabilities from respected organisations such as the Cranfield School of Business, and now IMechE, which reaffirms our commitment to creating world-class facilities.”

Winners will be announced on September 30 at a ceremony at the University of Warwick.


David Whetstone
Culture Editor
Graeme Whitfield
Business Editor
Mark Douglas
Newcastle United Editor
Stuart Rayner
Sports Writer