North East Exporters' Awards shortlist is announced

North East Exporters' Awards will recognise companies that do the most to boost the regional economy through overseas trade

North East Exporters Awards 2014
North East Exporters Awards 2014

The shortlist of finalists for this year’s North East Exporters’ Awards has been announced.

A total of 15 companies from around the region have been nominated in five categories, while two more prizes will be awarded by the judges on the night.

The awards – which celebrate the firms doing the most to boost the North East economy through overseas trade - are run by the North East Chamber of Commerce in association with The Journal and our sister paper on Teesside, The Gazette.

Winners of each of the award categories will be revealed at a prestigious dinner taking place on June 25 at Ramside Hall in Durham.

Sponsors include Arthur J Gallagher, UK Export Finance, NECC, UKTI, Evolution Business and Tax Advisors, HSBC, PD Ports, Business Durham, Kontainers and Tees Valley Unlimited.

The winner overall Exporter of the Year prize – chosen from the category winners on the night – will also go through to represent the North East in the National Chamber of Commerce Awards in November.

Last year, Ashington-based A-Belco won the North East award and then went on to take national glory.

There is also a special recognition award for a person or company who has a long and distinguised record in overseas trade.

The 2015 shortlist comprises:

SME Exporter of the Year (sponsored by Arthur J Gallagher): AIS Group, Houghton International, Tekmar Energy.

New Exporter Award (sponsored by UK Export Finance): Avid Technology Group Ltd, Blue Kangaroo Design, QuestUAV.

Export Team of the Year (sponsored by NECC): Ecco Finishing Supplies Ltd, Keltie Cochrane, Special iApps.

Medium and Large Exporter of the Year (sponsored by UKTI): Bondshold Limited, Oil Consultants Ltd, Sevcon Ltd.

Supporting Export Award: (sponsored by Evolution Business & Tax Advisors LLP) Camair Freight Solutions, Inter Global Forwarding, Papillon Tranlsations Ltd.

Overall Exporter of the Year (sponsored by HSBC): to be announced on the night.

Special Recognition Award (sponsored by PD Ports): to be announced on the night.


David Whetstone
Culture Editor
Graeme Whitfield
Business Editor
Mark Douglas
Newcastle United Editor
Stuart Rayner
Sports Writer