Hilary Florek appointed new chairman of the board at Port of Tyne

Hilary Florek steps up from deputy chairman at Port of Tyne after the death of Sir Les Elton earlier this year

Andrew Moffatt, Hilary Florek and Dr Jon Hargreaves at Port of Tyne
Andrew Moffatt, Hilary Florek and Dr Jon Hargreaves at Port of Tyne

Public relations boss Hilary Florek has been appointed chairman of the board of the Port of Tyne.

Ms Florek, who runs Newcastle-based HFPR Ltd, has been appointed following the death of previous chairman Sir Les Elton in July. Dr Jon Hargreaves, who has held a number of high profile executive jobs in the water industry, has been appointed deputy chairman.

Port chief executive Andrew Moffat said: “I am pleased to be welcoming Hilary and Jon as the new chairman and deputy chairman and delighted that this means the board retains expertise and continuity of knowledge at its helm. It ensures we are well-placed to continue to make progress on our plans for growth and to deliver our aim of ensuring that the port continues to be a thriving, dynamic business supporting the economy of the North East region now and for the future.”

Ms Florek has experience in both the public and private sectors. She established HFPR Ltd having preiously been PR and communications director for the Vaux Group.

She also has considerable experience as a non-executive director for a range of organisations. She has served on the boards of the Community Foundation for Tyne and Wear and Northumberland and the County Durham Foundation. She is a former Trustee of the Sunderland Youth Enterprise Trust and was a board member of Project North East for six years.

She is also a non-executive director of Isos Housing Ltd and a member of the University of Newcastle upon Tyne School of English Advisory Board.

She had been deputy chairman at the port after six years as a non-executive director. She said: “I am looking forward to leading the Port of Tyne through what promise to be exciting times ahead. The business is in very good shape and my colleagues on the board and I will endeavour to ensure we continue to develop a vibrant and sustainable port that remains a major contributor to the economy of the North East region and the UK.”

Dr Hargreaves has been a non-executive director at the port since 2010.


David Whetstone
Culture Editor
Graeme Whitfield
Business Editor
Mark Douglas
Newcastle United Editor
Stuart Rayner
Sports Writer